Este evento já decorreu.

The End of Time ?

DSCH - Schostakovich Ensemble


Jack Liebeck ©David Corfield

Trish O'Brien

Paul Dean

At this concert, DSCH – Shostakovich Ensemble proposes an original programme centred on the fascinating theme of Time and its multiple dimensions as a subject of art. The Quartet for the End of Time is one of the masterpieces of the twentieth century, composed by Olivier Messiaen in 1940-1941, while imprisoned by the Nazi army at the Stalag VIIIA concentration camp, in Görlitz, Silesia. The Trio for a New Time was composed in 1986 by the Peruvian Celso Garrido-Lecca, one of the most important South American composers of the last 50 years, and reflects his aesthetic plans for a new period of synthesis, unity and brotherhood in Latin America. The concert also includes the première in Portugal of Traversing the Passage of Time, composed in 2016 by the Australian Paul Dean, who will also play clarinet at this concert. Besides Dean, DSCH will also benefit from the presence of the ensemble’s founder and artistic director, the pianist Filipe Pinto-Ribeiro, together with the debut in Portugal of the cellist Trish O’Brien and the return of Jack Liebeck, one of the great violinists of the present day.

Comments by Filipe Pinto-Ribeiro

DSCH – Schostakovich Ensemble
Filipe Pinto-Ribeiro piano and artistic direction
Rosa Maria Barrantes piano
Jack Liebeck violin
Trish O’Brien cello
Paul Dean clarinet



The End of Time ?
Celso Garrido-Lecca (1926-)
Trio for a New Time (1986)
Paul Dean (1966-) 
Traversing the Passage of Time (2016)
Olivier Messiaen (1908-1992) 
Quartet for the End of Time (1941)



Production | CCB

26 november 2017 | 05:00PM

Send to a Friend