Este evento já decorreu.

Happy Birthday Shostakovich!

Complete Works of Chamber Music for Piano and Strings by Dmitri Shostakovich (1906-1975)


Chamber music demands of a composer the most impeccable technique and depth of thought.
Dmitri Shostakovich

DSCH – Shostakovich Ensemble are celebrating the 110th anniversary of Dmitri Shostakovich’s birth by performing the Russian composer’s complete works of chamber music for piano and strings, in two concerts that also mark the 10th anniversary of DSCH – Shostakovich Ensemble.
Shostakovich’s chamber music spans the full extent of his creative life, beginning in his youth (1st Trio, composed at the age of 16), passing through the masterpieces of his musical maturity (Sonata for cello and piano, 2nd Trio and Quintet) and ending in his last Opus (Sonata for viola and piano, composed in 1975, the year of his death), also reflecting the full spectrum of his ideological and thematic range.

This performance of the full works is a unique occasion to appreciate Shostakovich’s extraordinary chamber music, which, despite being widely played during his lifetime, remained a bastion of all his vitality and artistic freedom.

The concerts will include commentaries by Filipe Pinto-Ribeiro

Filipe Pinto-Ribeiro piano and artistic direction
Corey Cerovsek violin
Cerys Jones violin
Isabel Charisius viola
Patrick Demenga  cello


23 September | 19:00

Part I
Sonata for cello and piano, Op. 40
Trio No. 2, Op. 67, for piano, violin and cello

Part II
Moderato for cello and piano
Sonata for viola and piano, Op. 147

25 September | 16:00

Part I
Trio No. 1, Op. 8, for piano, violin and cello
Sonata for violin and piano, Op. 134

Part II
Quintet, Op. 57, for piano, 2 violins, viola and cello

Production | CCB


23 september 2016 | 19:00PM
25 september 2016 | 16:00PM

Send to a Friend