Este evento já decorreu.

DSCH Festival

10th anniversary of DSCH-Shostakovich Ensemble


Founded in 2006 by Filipe Pinto-Ribeiro, DSCH – Shostakovich Ensemble is a Portuguese chamber music group of great national and international prestige, who this year are celebrating the first decade of their existence with a very special anniversary concert.
The programme is set to be a festive one, including the entertaining Carnival of the Animals by Saint-Saëns, with Catarina Avelar reading humorous texts by Francis Blanche; Robert Schumann’s imposing Piano Quintet Op. 44; a surprising version of the good-humoured Concerto in A Major by Carlos Seixas; and, of course, Four Waltzes by Shostakovich himself, the composer who was the inspiration for the group’s name.
For this concert, Pinto-Ribeiro has brought together a wide range of artists from the different generations that have marked the history of DSCH – Shostakovich Ensemble with memorable concerts at the CCB.


Filipe Pinto-Ribeiro piano and artistic direction
Rosa Maria Barrantes piano
Adriana Ferreira flute
Pascal Moraguès clarinet
Benjamin Schmid violin
Jan Bjøranger violin
Lars Anders Tomter viola
Adrian Brendel cello
Tiago Pinto-Ribeiro double-bass
Miguel Sepúlveda celesta
Abel Cardoso percussion

Special guest Catarina Avelar narration


Part I
Carlos Seixas Concerto in A Major
Robert Schumann Piano Quintet, Op. 44

Part II
Dmitri Shostakovich Four Waltzes
Camille Saint-Saëns Carnival of the Animals, Grand Zoological Fantasy

Production | CCB

24 january 2016 | 05:00PM

1h35 with Intermission
Send to a Friend