Este evento já decorreu.

Portuguese Chamber Orchestra

©Patrícia Andrade

©Patrícia Andrade

A pause, the void?
A breath, an end, a beginning.
An echo?
What happens (to us) when the music stops?
Exploring the threshold of audibility, Lachenmann lays the foundations for this concert in the form of a reflection: the musicians from the Portuguese Chamber Orchestra will also intervene with words.
The extraordinary Swedish musician Joseph Martin Kraus (1756-1792), who was profoundly influenced by both opera and theatre, created the incidental music for the funeral service of Gustav III: without using the contrasts and the customary form of the symphony, Kraus wove a rich and unique tapestry of sound, interrupted by profound pauses.
After the interval (a fermata?), we will listen to Mozart’s radiant Haffner symphony, interspersed with a commentary in the form of sound (Takemitsu, Friedman and Jarrell), leading us step by step to the conclusion.
An end?

Flaute Rui Borges Maia
Clarinet Ana Maria Santos
Trumpet Óscar Carmo
Texts Teresa Simas e Pedro Carneiro
staging Teresa Simas
musical directionl Pedro Carneiro

Helmut Lachenmann (1935) Guero
Joseph Martin Kraus (1756-1792) Sinfonia Fúnebre em Dó menor, VB148


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791) Sinfonia n.º 35 em Ré maior, Haffner, K. 385*

* Os andamentos da Sinfonia n.º 35 em Ré maio, K. 385 serão intercalados com as seguintes obras:

Toru Takemitsu (1930-1996) Itinerant: in memory of Isamu Noguchi
Stanley Friedman (1951) Solus (IV. Fanfare)
Michael Jarrell (1958) Assonance II

Production | CCB

24 november 2019 | 05:00PM
Send to a Friend